EBAN Elects New Board of Directors

por Ana Coll,

3 July, 2018

Brussels, Belgium

EBAN, the European Trade Association for Business Angels, Seed Funds and Early Stage Market Players elected on 26 June, 2018 a new President and Board of Directors for the 2018-2020 mandate. The elections were held during the association's Annual General Assembly, which took place at the 2018 EBAN Annual Congress in Sofia, Bulgaria.

The following 23 candidates were selected to serve on the EBAN Board of Directors for the 2018-2020 mandate:

Peter Cowley, Martlet, UK, President of the Board
Baybars Altuntas, Turkish Business Angels Association (TBAA), Turkey, Vice President of the Board
Riku Asikainen, Finnish Business Angels Network (FiBAN), Finland, Vice President of the Board

Jesper Jarlbaek, Danish Business Angels Network (DANBAN), Denmark, Treasurer

Juan Alvarez de Lara, Seed&Click, Spain

Larissa Best, Luxembourg Business Angels Network (LBAN), Luxembourg
Christine Bjärkby, Connect Sweden, Sweden

Peter Braun, EPI Startup Fund, Switzerland
Albert Colomer, Business Angels Network Catalunya (BANC), Spain
Amparo de San Jose, IESE Business Angels Network, Spain
Marcel Dridje, Sophia Business Angels, France
Jose Herrera, AEBAN, Spain
Panayiotis Ketikidis, Hellenic Business Angels Network (HeBAN), Greece
Robert Ługowski, CobinAngels, Poland
Ricardo Luz, FNABA, Portugal
Michael O’Connor, CorkBIC, Ireland
John Phelan, Halo Business Angels Network (HBAN), Ireland
Vitaly Polekhin, National Business Angels Association (NBAA), Russia
Selma Prodanovic, Austrian Angel Investor Association (aaia), Austria
Priit Rohumaa, Estonian Business Angel Network (ESTBAN), Estonia
Audra Shallal, Nordic Female Business Angel Network (NFBAN), Finland
Ian Sosso, Monte Carlo Capital, Monaco
Davorin Stetner, Croatian Business Angels Network (CRANE), Croatia

As part of the election, Peter Cowley, Chair of the Cambridge Angels and Investment Director at Martlet was elected as EBAN President.

Peter Cowley studied Engineering and Computer Science at Cambridge University, lives near Cambridge and has owned and run small businesses in technology and construction. Peter was UKBAA business angel of the year 2014/15 and is one of top Global Corporate Venturers. He is a Fellow in Entrepreneurship at the Cambridge Judge Business School. 

He has been an active angel investor for many years and is a board member of the Cambridge Angels and the Investment Director of the Marshall of Cambridge, Martlet Corporate Angel division.

He has personally invested in over 50 startups (in the SaaS, biotech, sensing, IoT, cleantech, fintech, edtech, medtech and security sectors), has led many investment rounds and is a non-executive director or observer of seven technology start-ups.

Serving alongside Peter Cowley, the EBAN Board of Directors for the 2018-2020 mandate is composed of 11 existing members of the Board of Directors together with 12 new members, bringing together a number of different sectors, countries, and EBAN membership categories.

Peter Cowley's election as EBAN President marks the end of the four-year mandate for Candace Johnson, who first became President of the association in 2014, having been re-elected in 2016. Candace held the presidency role of EBAN for two mandates, the maximum allowed in our association.

Under her presidency of EBAN, Candace took EBAN to new heights with countless new initiatives from the EurInvest Road Show to CEE Released, from Rising Tide Europe to EBAN Space, new partnerships and sponsorships that helped EBAN grow and evolve as an organization, new ways to bring EBAN members together and share knowledge, best practices and make connections. In her aim to help angel investing spread across the world, Candace also co-founded MBAN, the Middle East Business Angel Network and ABAN, the African Business Angel Network.

EBAN would like to thank Candace Johnson for her dedicated and distinguished work as EBAN President and welcome her to the President Emeritus Advisory Council, which she founded at the beginning of her Presidency. To show their gratitude and appreciation for her spectacular achievements, the outgoing Board of Directors and EBAN Team presented Candace with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the Annual Gala Awards Ceremony, which took place on 25 June at the EBAN Sofia Annual Congress.

For more information, please contact the EBAN Secretariat:


Rue de la Science 14b
1040 Brussels


Para comentar, por favor inicia sesión o crea una cuenta